1 December 2023

The Tshwane School for Business and Society (TSB) recently hosted its annual MBA Awards Dinner to celebrate remarkable achievements of students and highlight TSB’s distinct focus on society in its curriculum.

The event encapsulated the TSB culture, emphasising not just academic excellence, but also the imperative of societal impact and purpose-driven leadership.

In his opening remarks Prof Kobus Jonker, Director of the Tshwane School of Business, pointed out that students play a pivotal role in shaping the essence of the institution.

“This business school is about our students. Without students, there is no business school. It is a privilege for us to celebrate our students tonight,” he said.

Also adding depth and inspiration to the night was Dr Vathiswa Papu-Zamxaka, Deputy Vice-Chancellor for Research, Innovation and Engagement, who introduced the guest speaker, Keitumetse Lebaka, CEO of the Gauteng Film Commission and Deputy Chair of the TSB Advisory Board.

Lebaka shared her insights in business and the creative industry, urging attendees to embrace every moment in creating meaningful connections and establishing partnerships that transcend the confines of every event.

She continued to encourage individuals to investigate their inner selves, emphasising the importance of aligning personal purpose with a vision that surpasses individual aspirations, echoing the sentiment that if your vision doesn’t scare you, it is not big enough. “Understanding the uniqueness of our leadership characteristics which connects us to a larger ecosystem of who we are, is significant in purpose driven leadership. It provides enduring strength during challenging times.”

 Director of The Tshwane School for Business and Society, Prof Kobus Jonker.

The MBA award winners for the 2023 academic year were:
MBA First-year top students 3:

  1. Mashudu Ramunenyiwa – 72%
  2. Ms Dineo Mokwele – 71%
  3. Mr Kgomalla Joel Petje – 70%


MBA second-year top 3 students:


  1. Mr Tamsaqa Herbert Baloyi – 78%
  2. Ms Andile Melodious Tlou – 74.4%
  3. Mr Bulfour Napoleon Mohlala – 73.8%


Best MBA Students for 2022:

  1. Mr Khathutshelo Lordwick Maemu – 75.1%
  2. Ms Zamakholo Signatia Gamede – 72.4%
  3. Mr Ranthekeng Jonas Moloisane – 71.5% and Mr Jeffrey Kholofelo Maaga – 71.5%
 The Distinguished MBA Award Recipients for 2023.


For more information on the Tshwane University of Technology, please contact Phaphama Tshisikhawe, Corporate Affairs and Marketing.
Tel: +27 12 382 4711  Email: tshisikhawerpt@tut.ac.za